Sacramento Copwatch

Policing the Police

  • Archives

Standstill

Posted by cadburyjedi, john h. on February 8, 2011

Copwatch on hold…

…Contact me for more information or if you want to help start it up again.

Thanks.

2 Responses to “Standstill”

  1. Dan Simms said

    On Febuary 1, 2011, I was a normal person enjoying life. When 8 Sacto. PD surrounded me in the parking lot of my apartment at 2747 River Plaza Dr. I known someone had been in my apartment; later I learned that SPD had entered 4 time without cause. Then I was trapped in the parking lot by 8 SPD demanding that I speek to then. When I ask for what then came the problem. First I was “ASKed” if I would agree to a pat down and I agreed; only to learn later I was put into a Chicken Hold that dislocated my left shoulder. Then I was turn lose and then when back to my apartment only to have SPD come calling 3 to 5 min. later with SGT GOLD badge number 3031. Who then stated to me that if my gun was not sold he was going to 5150 me or if I did not have a DOC. that date I would be 5150. It just happen that I had both and for What I asked. Then 3031 walking into my apartment without a Warrent after I had met all of this rude persons behavior. After all 9 officers turn my apartment upside down then left.

    On Feb. 3, 2011, at approx. 9 am there was a knot at the door when I open the door there were 2 SPD demanding I open the door and check the apartment, when I refused aprox. 8;30 pm I was removed from my apartment and 5150ed.

    I still do not have a clue for or why SPD was called in the first place.

    I have asked for a IA investgation and got at best a sweep uped the rug; with no answers.

    Is there anyone that can help me?

    Dan Simms
    U.S. Postmaster (ret.)

    • cadburyjedi, john h. said

      hello,

      thanks so much for your comment and i apologize that this happened to you. the police needed to have a warrant to enter your apartment, and if they didn’t, then you can file a law suit against them, as this is your constitutional right. what you can do is contact the office of public safety accountability, which is independent from the sacramento police department but investigates complaints against them. here is their web site: http://www.cityofsacramento.org/opsa/. you can also email francine tournour, who is the director of that agency that oversees that Sac PD. Her email is ftournour@cityofsacramento.org. Explain to her what happened to you, give her any relevant information that you collected like officers’ names, badge numbers, time of day, date, location, license plate numbers, etc. and then inform her that you’d like to file a complaint against these officers and that you would like her to investigate the matter.

      please let me know if you have any other questions or concerns. thanks again.

      sac copwatch

Leave a Reply

 
